RSS

Sneak Peek: The Hollow Tree Library

12 Apr

From seagulls to parrots and cockatoos.  I’ve just moved to a quaint wooden house on top of a hill somewhere near the Dandenong Ranges.  Quite a sea change after being so used to life near the beach.  Thus explains why I have been creatively dormant for the past two months.  Luckily, I have been slowly getting my groove back and started to make the Hollow Tree Library even though the house is still packed with a jumble of unopened moving boxes.

The Hollow Tree Library is made from a piece of driftwood I found in Altona Beach.  The mushrooms are made from paper clay and actually glow in the dark.  I hope I can capture the glow of the mushrooms when I take photos of the finished piece.

Here’s a view of the back of the tree.  Although the leaves look real, let’s just say I don’t need to worry about it changing its autumn colours.  O yeah, there’s a smattering of ladybugs too.

I still don’t know what to put in this new bell jar theme.  I’ll figure it out soon. Stay tuned!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 12, 2012 in Bell Jars

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Sneak Peek: The Hollow Tree Library

  1. Joyce

    April 16, 2012 at 5:02 am

    This is absolutely precious! Will there be any of your little mice in there, reading? Hope you enjoy your new home and that getting settled isn’t too difficult.

     
  2. bedailymindful

    July 3, 2012 at 10:07 pm

    I absolutely love it! How did you make the leaves so realistic?

     
    • Life in a Bell Jar

      July 11, 2012 at 2:01 am

      Thanks! Those are faux fabric leaves. And yes they really do make them so realistic nowadays. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
