RSS

A tree house in the woods

13 May

My two resident gnomes pointed out one thing to me – We like to live under trees, just like in the book “Gnomes” by Huygen & Poortvliet. The gypsy caravan was really nice and comfy but if you can build us a tree house, we would much prefer it. It’s safe from trolls and polecats.

So what was I to do? I certainly couldn’t refuse a request like that.

I picked up cedar cones and a piece of drift wood during a weekend trip to the Dandenong Ranges. I thought these would be just the thing to use to create the tree house. I used cedar cones for roof tiles because of this picture.

The driftwood I found was perfect. I couldn’t have found one so knotted and bent with a small space underneath to snugly fit in the tiny gnome house.

Leaving their gypsy caravan, Olaf and Olga have settled in their new home.

I had problems fitting the tree house in a bell jar because of its height. But luckily, it did fit a tall clock dome.

So now I have a lonely, empty gypsy caravan sitting on my table. Maybe I should lease it to some poor mice or sell it in the market? Any takers? It’s slightly used and and in very good condition. The gnomes are very good housekeepers.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 13, 2011 in Bell Jars

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
