RSS

Waiting for the bus…

26 Mar

This ridiculously cute gnome made me laugh the whole time I was making him.   I wanted to make a Japanese inspired “Totoroesque” themed bell jar.  So I made this kimono wearing gnome. Not unlike the “Drunken Master”, don’t you think?

To make this bell jar, I made a cherry blossom tree, a bus stop sign, a suit case, a gnome, and a gnome home.  The cocktail umbrella, is sadly, not made by myself.  But the bunny likes it so it’s okay.

I love the scene in the “Totoro” animated film of Totoro waiting at the bus stop holding an umbrella.  And this little bunny reminds me of the film that’s why I recreated the bus stop scene with my own personal twist.  It just didn’t feel complete if it was just the bunny, so I created the kimono wearing gnome to go with it.

I wasn’t really happy with the lighting set up when I first took the picture.  So I added a lantern and changed the gnome home’s wall light.

Here’s a look at the finished bell “Waiting for the bus” bell jar…

 


 

 

 

 

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 26, 2011 in Bell Jars

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Waiting for the bus…

  1. Amy

    April 5, 2011 at 2:36 am

    Your work is amazing so is your photography! I’m glad I found your blog thru MS365:)

     
    • Life in a Bell Jar

      April 5, 2011 at 9:49 am

      Hi Amy! Thanks for your kind words. I’m glad you appreciate my work. It’s really fun to do and very addictive. Although sometimes I don’t know what to do first – update the blog with new photos or create the bell jars. Stay tuned for more! – Larisa

       
  2. Michelle

    April 6, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    I found my way here from MS365 and your projects are so awe inspiring. I am in love with everything and am eager to see what you will create next. 🙂

     
    • Life in a Bell Jar

      April 8, 2011 at 3:40 am

      Hi Michelle! Thanks for checking out my blog. Next one up has something to do with hot air balloons. 🙂

       
  3. Ali J

    April 15, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    OMG

    You are fabulous!!!!

    EEk!!!

    Are you selling your bell jars? My boyfriend is going to be in love with your work too. Gnomes…. squirrels.. cute animals!! GORGEOUS!

     
    • Life in a Bell Jar

      April 16, 2011 at 8:04 am

      Hi Ali J. Your comment just made me smile today. Thank you.

      Currently the bell jars are a hobby. But if anyone falls desperately in love with them I might consider commissions. 🙂

       
  4. Lynna

    October 13, 2011 at 1:06 am

    Wow haha I was looking for ideas on a bell jar terrarium so this is OT for me but your creations are awesome! Worth the stop and look.

     
    • Life in a Bell Jar

      October 13, 2011 at 1:33 am

      Thanks for liking Lynna! Drop by again soon there’s more to come!

       

Leave a Reply

 
