RSS

It all started with a mouse

21 Jan

I found this fella in an antique shop in Ballarat.  He was coated with dust, just sitting on a shelf with old books.  I fell in love with this chubby little critter and just had to take him home.   What do you do with a new tenant? Why give him a home, of course!

Bell jars exude this steampunkish, Jules Verne vibe that’s why I love them so much.  What better place to make into a tiny home than a bell jar?  Seems like anything put into these babies just come alive.  A tiny world of its own.

My friend says I make “Bell Jar Universes” which I think pretty much sums up what I’m doing at the moment.

To furnish the house of mouse, I purchased this perfect fairy door from thefaerywatcher at Etsy.  I was in Bentleigh a few weeks ago, and happen to pass by an Edu Toys shops.  To my delight, they sell dollhouse miniatures!   I couldn’t resist buying miniature streetlights and lanterns.  They actually light up!  Throw in moss, stones, trees and found objects and I was ready to make my 1st bell jar I call “Of Mice and Bell Jars”.

Add in the miniature street lights..

Stick a lantern by the doorpost….

Open the lights and off course add the bell jar.  And there you have it the house of mouse called “Of Mice and Bell Jars”.   This is going to be a 365 day project for me so keep checking my blog for updates.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2011 in Bell Jars

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “It all started with a mouse

  1. ed lopez

    January 24, 2011 at 5:20 am

    Beautiful Chi. Love your site.

     
  2. nayda zita lopez

    January 25, 2011 at 11:30 am

    Dear Chi,

    Ang ganda ng bell jar with mouse. Madali lang palang gawin. It looks like an enchanted place with the fairy door and the lamp posts. Napaka-magical ng dating and the photography enhanced the look that you wanted to project. Congratulations and may the tribe of the bell jars increase!

    Mommy

     
  3. Marion

    February 8, 2011 at 12:38 am

    These jars are really pretty artist ka talaga 🙂
    If I can find a space at the new house to do artwork
    I would really do so plus writing my compositions which I miss doing with you and Les. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
